The latest from me!

It’s been a while since I posted on here with an update on how I’m doing, so here’s a little bit of what’s been going.

Physically I am feeling as good as I’ve felt since the injury first happened. This last week was a breakthrough week because I accomplished things I didn’t even plan on accomplishing. For example, after training on Tuesday, I decided to start dribbling the ball and taking shots at the goal. I haven’t tried to do this since the injury, or even been encouraged to do this by the doctors and trainers I’m working with, but I just felt that I’d be able to do it. Surprisingly, I felt pretty good as I dribbled and took some shots with my right foot (the injured leg). I ended up doing more than I probably should have and felt a little bit sore afterward but who cares right? It’s a step in the right direction. Today (Thursday) I actually joined the team for the first part of warm ups, and did everything my team mates did in terms of jogging, stretching, and agility exercises. I stepped out once the ball was thrown into the equation and trained on the side with one of our trainers. We did some advanced ball work in comparison to what I’ve been doing and I felt really good again. Looking forward to training on Friday so I can finish off a good week.

I guess the next step for me is the final phase, which sometimes is the hardest phase of all. I need to work on being able to sprint fully, strike the ball with the power I had before, be able to change directions at speed, take hits, and have equal strength in both legs (or as close as possible). Those are my goals now and they’ll be hard to reach but I love a challenge! A lot of it depends on me – my desire, work-rate, effort, and dedication – but some of it is also out of my hands. For example, I can’t control the rate at which my nerves regain strength, and also how quickly my leg will be able to take the impact it used to take. I’m doing everything I can to be back to 100% soon…. I don’t know when that will be. If it’s in a month I’ll be ecstatic! If it’s in a year I’ll be ecstatic! If it’s in 2 years I’ll be ecstatic! I just want to play again one day – that’s where my focus is!

I’m sure some of you may have seen the freestyle video I put up on YouTube (Steve Z Quote Me) a couple of weeks ago. Thanks for the positive feedback. As I’ve said plenty of times before I’ve been into that kind of music since I was a kid and I used to go on radio stations in London with my friends on a weekly basis to do some of what I did in the video. I do it purely for fun and because it’s a hobby of mine!

If you get a chance, pick up a copy of the latest Official Arsenal Magazine and read the interview I did for the team I grew up playing for. I’m sure there are some online versions out there by now as well.

For everyone in the Seattle area, let me recommend a restaurant – Island Soul. Authentic Jamaican food and a great vibe (especially on a Friday/Saturday night with live music). Google it and pay them a visit!

Thank you all so much for your support, encouragement, and comforting words these past few months. It means a lot to me and I’m convinced that the best is yet to come! Talk to you all soon. Feel free to leave some comments on here, on my facebook/twitter, I enjoy reading them all even though I can’t always respond to each one!

Love you all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The latest from me!

  1. It’s great to hear that you’re getting better quickly! We’ve definitely missed seeing your energy and passion out on the pitch and look forward to seeing you out there again soon. I know I speak for all of us when I say you are constantly in our hearts and prayers.
    Get well soon, friend!
    Michael

  2. Hey Steve —
    It’s really great to hear you’re making progress that excites you. You’re missed on the field. We’ll be patient if you’ll be positive! I hope we make you feel good when you come out into the community – no one has forgotten your play, or your smile 🙂

    Be well!
    Amy

  3. danieljguerrero@gmail.com says:

    Two Sounder fans in Portland are wishing you a speedy recovery. Love reading your progress on the blog! We miss yelling “Take him” “Take him” when you received the ball on the wing. We also miss how you seemed to heed our calls and then proceeded to burn the opposing defender. Keep up the good work Steve.

  4. Trevor says:

    Great to hear, Steve! Keep working hard; we Sounders fans can’t wait to see you fit and back on the field, but don’t rush your return, we can be patient while your work yourself back and better than ever! Sounders till we die!

  5. Michael says:

    Can you imagine how loud century link is going to be when they announce zaks name in the starting lineup again. Like arlo on mike Fucitos goal agaist KC last year ‘QWEST FIELD ERRRUPPTS!!!’ I get chills just thinking about when steves back.

  6. Steve, this is great news. Congrats on your recovery. Now take a couple steps back. Put everything in perspective and then forward again.

  7. You are such an inspiration Steve.

    Your attitude and how you carry yourself is pure class. You are a wonderful role model and your glowing personality is contagious. First overall pick of our first draft? You are Seattle’s adopted native son! We will always love & respect you.

    No matter what happens to you or where you go, you’ll always be a Sounder.

  8. Dave Smith says:

    Class act, buddy… I’m super proud of your progress man.

  9. Steve,

    Thank you so much for keeping us all updated on your road to recovery. I like so many other supporters miss seeing you on the pitch and cannot wait for your return. As for your song, it’s amazing and I just made a mention of it on my blog. Feel free to check it out if you wish: http://www.critiqulous.com/2011/09/music-video-break-quote-me.html

    Best of luck on the recovery and again, thank you for everything you do on and off the pitch.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Classiest footballer out there, 100% class. Get well Zak!

  11. Mike Russell says:

    So glad to hear your progress is going well. As others have said, your style, speed, and spirit have been greatly missed. I, too, can’t wait for the day that we are chanting your name once again.

    I was in the stadium during the tribute back in April and snapped a few photos which I posted on my blog, http://www.mikerussellfoto.com/blog/252. Just thinking of it give me chills. Everyone is behind you.

  12. Anonymous says:

    super excited to hear that report; praying for a quicker than expected recovery!

  13. Anonymous says:

    Can’t wait to hear Arlo calling the game when you get back on the field, as I’m sure he will be just as excited as all the fans. It’s going to be an awesome moment. For now I’m just glad you’re a Sounder. You represent the team and city well with everything you do.

    Also, a long while back I read you talkin about Island Soul (I think it was on Seattle Times), so I went there and… DAMN! Best food I’ve ever had, hands down. The fried Catfish is so good. The people who work there are really friendly too. Props to you on that recommendation.

  14. Stay strong! Can’t wait to see you back on the pitch.

  15. Sounders Fan says:

    You always look like one of the few people in professional soccer who actually enjoying playing. Your smile on the field is infectious and it seems like you truly just enjoy playing for the games sake, even when we are loosing. Truly a class act and great role model.

  16. Pingback: Some Good News From Steve Zakuani | Latest Updates

  17. Keet Edwards says:

    So great to hear of constant forward progress. I look forward to seeing you back on the pitch!

  18. This is great news, Stevie Z. My boys have a signed picture of you on the wall in their room. At least once per week: “Dad, when is Steve Zakuani coming back?” “Soon”, I tell them. Sooner now though!

  19. Anonymous says:

    So good to hear from you. Your song is awesome and we are so excited for your return. Keep up the good work, Steve. We love you!

  20. Ha Vi says:

    Hey man.. We miss you bro. Everything would change without you Zak.

  21. Jennifer says:

    Wonderful to here you are doing so well Steve. We are all excited to see you back on the pitch someday soon!

  22. Tyler says:

    Great to hear that your Recovery is going well still! Seattle is still thinking about you and want you back, we need a man of your character on the field to lead us forward. Also Mike Russel’s pictures in an earlier comment and you should check them out if you have time. He is right it gives you chills, hope it reminds you of how important you are to this city.

  23. FredE says:

    Thanks for the update Steve. Glad to hear you’re progressing well. I hope you get a chance to check out the 2011 Akron Zips on Fox Soccer Channel this Friday. As always, I’ll be in the front row. Fear the Roo! I’d love to see you in Santa Barbara on Oct 5th.

    Hope I can make it to Seattle next year. My wish one day would be to see Darlington Nagbe and the Portland Timbers vs you and the Seattle Sounders in Seattle…home of the best fans in MLS! And, Seattle just happens to be one of the most beautiful cities in the US…I’ve had a great time on both of my previous visits.

    Take care and best wishes.

    Go Zips!
    Go Sounders!

  24. Hey steve, its good to hear how you are doing just a side note seattle is my favorite mls team and i hope they win their concacafe game tonight but more importaintly i recently broke my ti/fib like you did unfourtunatly it too was a dirty tackle. ive been depressed lately seeing as this has the potential to end my soccer career for good. it would be good to hear some more inspiration from you, i could really use it. was wondering too, did you get a metal rod and 3 pinns in your leg too? haha
    well i appreciate the update and the talent you bring to the sounders!

    hope you read this mate, get better quick and give the rest of us hope!

  25. Anonymous says:

    Dear Steve:
    I am glad you are making progress. I am in the same boat however this is my third goround.
    Someone your age might want to take some simple martial arts classes to strengthen the leg before actually striking the ball.
    Rob

  26. Emma Rodriguez says:

    I hope you get better bef

  27. Anonymous says:

    you are the best soccer player and one ill be good as you. you thought a lot things and be strong.

  28. We need to set a standard, not follow the ways of the world.
    bloger http://www.tupperwarehouse.net/sopirrm.asp

Leave a Reply

