Quick Update

Just a quick update for those who’ve been asking. It’s been two and half months since the injury and I must say I’m feeling good, and that I’m a lot further along than I thought I’d be at this stage. In the past few days I’ve started some really light jogging and have increased the difficulty of the agility, strengthening, and mobility exercises that I do in my workouts. Each small victory is a step in the right direction. I’m also going to start doing some weight training again because I lost a lot of weight in the early weeks following the injury. I was already a skinny guy, so you know that wasn’t a good thing! Seriously though, it’s important for me to start getting back to my playing weight and conditioning.

I hope you all enjoyed your 4th of July… I know I did. I was way out in Marysville at a bbq with a friend and his family, and then I went to see another friend in Bellevue where we caught the firework show. The team got a good point on the road – LA is a tough place to play. I didn’t watch the game so I can’t say which team played better etc, but anytime you can leave LA with something, that’s a positive. In the coming weeks I’ll be doing a lot of traveling as I take some time away to refocus before I begin phase 2 of my recovery. Phase 2 will be running, ball work, and eventually sprinting. I love traveling so these trips will be welcome respites from my daily rehab routine. To all the fans who have been sending me messages wishing me a speedy recovery, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart because it means a lot to me.

Lastly, you may or may not know that I love reading books and collecting quotes.. I saw a good one the other day that reminded me to remain positive, optimistic, and full of faith no matter how bad things look externally. Here it is “There are days so tough, you wish you had never gotten out of bed, until you run into someone who couldn’t”

Until next time, Steve Zakuani

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quick Update

  1. Denby Bruzas says:

    My daughter suffered a similar injury on the soccer field in April, she had an additional surgery on June 27th to remove one screw so that she could begin the rehab process. Would love to hear any specifics on the types of exercises you are doing to regain mobility and muscle strength, she has hopes of being back on the field this fall and it has been slow going.

  2. The game in LA was exciting for many reasons; it may be worth a watch while you are on the road. I’m a little surprised that you didn’t watch it, though maybe it’s hard to sit idle when you know you could have been part of it if things had happened differently.

    A few questions for your next Q&A post, if you don’t mind:
    1) Which MLS keeper [other than KK] do you feel is the hardest to score against?
    2) Do you have any opinions on the ongoing refereeing conversation [many questionable calls, poor judgments, etc.] that is a persistent headline this season?
    3) Having grown up in the UK and also spent time in the midwest, what do you miss most about those places? What do you think you’d miss most about Seattle if you were ever to leave?

    Still wearing your number to every game and looking forward to seeing your return. Keep up the good work!

  3. David Vo says:

    Thanks for the update Steve! Maybe all of our praying and wishing has pushed the healing process along? =D Enjoy your well deserved time away, but dont forget about us.

    Oh and one last thing, respites? Not going to lie, had to look that one up lol
    Thanks for teaching me a new word and humbling my day.

    Til next time bud.

  4. Kerri Foust says:

    We’ve truly missed watching you play and look forward to your speedy recovery. I believe a positve mind fuels a healthy body. Keep it up Steve and we’ll see you back on the pitch in no time!!

  5. Best of wishes on your recovery, and enjoy your travels. As someone who works in a hospital, I know how hard the rehab can be. Keep your eyes forward and the road will be clear.

  6. David says:

    Keep it up Steve-o.

    Remember the kid in orange shorts (with a white stripe) two years ago at Fred Meyers? Ok…well probably not, but I figured it was worth a shot. I still have the soccer ball you and Evans signed though!

    Good too see that you like reading, there’s a lot of great things to learn in this world from a lot of folks, many of which those folks have put into books.

    It’s always a long shot to recommend books to read, because everybody who likes to read always has a bunch of books on the “to-read” list. So here’s another long shot: I hugely recommend A Severe Mercy and Godric (in that order, too).They’re two really great books. The first is one of the best portraits I’ve seen of what God means by saving us; the second is as great as it is short, and it’s really short.

  7. Thanks for the update! Here’s a quote for your collection: “For if you embrace your afflictions and call them your own, they will become your blessings.” – Moses Mendelssohn

  8. rundadrun says:

    Godspeed on your recovery. It is great to see Christian young men with your influence honoring God with your gifts. I will be praying for your leg and your return to the field.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  9. Anonymous says:

    Steve you are truly a one of a kind person. We are very lucky to have you in the Seattle area. You have touched the hearts of more than you will ever know. Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing you back on the pitch.

  10. Kristin Bond says:

    Steve,
    I am a young teen loving soccer! I am 15 and I am going in to 10th grade. As a freshman I made the HS Varsity soccer team! I am a Sounders fc addict (as everyone I know tells me). You are one of my favoret players! I hope that your leg is healthy and that you will never have to go through with that ever again! it was tarrible and it was a really big bummer!

    Sincerally,
    Kristin

  11. Pingback: Quote 1: Motivational « I have a full passion bucket!

Leave a Reply

