Time on my hands!

 

I believe that there are positives to be found in every situation, including the one I’ve found myself in since April 22. It hasn’t been easy to come to terms with what happened and knowing that my career will be on hold for a while, but one of the benefits has been that I now have a lot more free time than I’m used to. Since 2009, I’ve been very busy with my career. My lifestyle has consisted of training, matches, airports, airplanes, hotels, public appearances, interviews, and more. It can be nonstop sometimes! But right now, I’m not able to train, play, or travel with my team and so I’m experiencing a shift in my lifestyle. One of the things I want to do with this new found free time is to blog and interact with the public. There is a lot more to a football (soccer) player than his or her sport. We have interests in a variety of things that can range from music to politics. So this blog will be the avenue I use to talk, share, and ramble about the things that interest me. I love music, politics, history, current affairs, reading, traveling, good restaurants, London, Seattle, sunny days, good movies, technology, vacations, sleeping in, drinking tea, documentaries, pranks, the NBA, and a million other things! My point is, I can and will talk about almost anything on here. I’ll try to avoid talking about soccer all the time but I am not making any promises. Feel free to leave comments etc…!

Steve Z.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Time on my hands!

  1. Tyler Pisani says:

    I think it’s great that you found a way to express yourself. I have been a big fan of yours since you got drafted. I think footballers are a different breed of professional athlete in America. You don’t get paid millions upon millions and get so disconnected with the outside world that you begin to refer to yourself in the third person. One thing I have noticed about MLS players and sounders players specifically is your humbleness. You never attract attention for negative things and you never seek the cameras to flaunt your positive actions either. Being at your birthday party interacting with you and James showed just how down to earth you guys are, I admire that. I think that the OchoCinco’s and the Lebron James’s of the world could learn a lot from your humility.
    You completely stunned me when on national television you said you had no hard feelings against Brian Mullen, I wasn’t expecting you to tear the guy to pieces but to be able to say that you have no hard feelings was remarkable. Commendable even. This just goes to show how much class you have, many players would have spent their free time counting down the days until they could seek revenge but not you. You Steve are why I love soccer. You embody everything that is right with the game, your athleticism, your heart, your workrate, but most of all your true passion not only for the game but to honestly and truely connect with fans.

    Thank you Steve, I look forward to seeing you on the pitch soon,
    Tyler P

  2. Tyler Pisani says:

    I think it’s great that you found a way to express yourself. I have been a big fan of yours since you got drafted. I think footballers are a different breed of profession athlete in America. You don’t get paid millions upon millions and get so disconnected with the outside world that you begin to refer to your self in the third person. One thing I have noticed about MLS players and sounders players specifically is the humbleness. You never attract attention for negative things and you never seek the cameras to flaunt your positive actions either. Being at your birthday party interacting with you and James showed just how down to earth you guys are, I admire that. I think that the OchoCinco’s and the Lebron James’s of the world could learn a lot from your humility.
    You completely stunned me when on national television you said you had no hard feelings against Brian Mullen, I wasn’t expecting you to tear the guy to pieces but to be able to say that you have no hard feelings was remarkable. Commendable even. This just goes to show how much class you have, many players would have spent their free time counting down the days until they could seek revenge but not you. You Steve are why I love soccer. You embody everything that is right with the game, your athleticism, your heart,

  3. angieseattle says:

    I am very much looking forward to reading your blog posts, Steve. Even before the incident on April 22, you inspired so many with the way you overcame previous obstacles to become such a beloved person and Seattle Sounder. It’s so wonderful to see that you continue that legacy of perseverance and generosity even with this pause in a major part of your life. My thoughts are continually with you for a complete and speedy recovery!

  4. Juli says:

    Love your positive attitude!! And that your likes can include Seattle, London, and… sunny days! Good luck with that one! 🙂

  5. Abby M. says:

    Can’t wait to see what God will be doing with these moments on your path to recovery. Treasure these moments of calm. Blessings to you!!

  6. Amen to music and sleeping in! Love those both! Glad you are going to blog in your down time. I’m sad about the way you came upon your down time but since you are there glad you will be able to enjoy it and experience this moment in your life.

  7. Dave Crumbo says:

    Hey Steve, we miss you on the pitch that is for sure! It’s awesome to watch you shuffle down the side lines and then blow past defenders.

    In your spare time (haha) if you are feeling the urge to drive north we would love to host you at a city-wide youth event in anacortes. We need positive role models in the athletic world, they seem to be a huge minority.

    Get well, looking forward to seeing you smoking down the sidelines!

  8. Paul Tuxbury says:

    Your attitude is inspirational, and I am very excited to see you on the field soon! Thanks for sharing. I also have a blog and ended up with some time to spare. I have found that it is a very relaxing and healing activity to write a blog, specifically for me, small poems about my thoughts. I would like to see more from you.. What type of music do you listen to? Where have you travelled?
    Time for coffee, have a great day, and thanks for sharing.
    Paul Tux
    http://www.paultuxx.wordpress.com

  9. Thanks for sharing Steve!

  10. Laura Waniuk says:

    Great to see your positive attitude and approach to your time off! I wanted to ask you:
    1) What is your favorite city, worldwide, to travel to (for fun)?
    2) Throughout your career – which has been your favorite stadium to play in?

    🙂

  11. Awesome and welcome to the world of blogging, Steve. Looking forward to your entries and like so many others, I wish you a speedy recovery and hope to see you back on the pitch very soon.

  12. Tiphanie says:

    Not many sunny days in London or Seattle, but it looks like summer is finally here! 🙂
    Keeping busy is the best thing during hard times, what a great idea to reach out to others with your blog. When your’e in the middle of a rough patch in life it’s difficult to imagine that you will get through it, but you will, and I promise you will learn valuable life lessons on the way. Especially because you seem to be the type of person who wants to help others, keep a positive attitude, and never gives up.
    Good luck with all you do, although you certainly don’t need it!

  13. Jon D says:

    In the vein of politics/history, have you by chance read Tragedy and Hope by Carroll Quigley? If you have some extra downtime, it’s one of my favorite history books. It deals momentarily with the rise of civilizations, before focusing on America from 1900-1960, and the dealings b/w central banks of the world at the time.

  14. Dan Ericson says:

    Glad to see you’ve started blogging, Steve! You’re in my prayers!

  15. Chris says:

    Steve,

    Glad to hear you’re doing well and staying so positive. Keep working hard and believing in yourself. I think you already know just how many people are pulling for you.

    Be well,

    Chris

  16. Luke Ferris says:

    Hey Steve!! Your an inspiration!! How do you take your tea? And what is your favorite blend? Thanks! Get well soon!

  17. A. Urlacher says:

    Hope you keep this possitive FOM forever Steve. Thank you for openning up and sharing this part of you. I can’t wait to get to know the finer side of Steve-o.

    What music are you currently listening to most? (genre, group, artist, whatever)

    Also, have you traveled much of our great state of Washington yet? If you’re looking for some better weather at all, head over to eastern Washington and the Yakima valley for some wine tasting. Great times. Tons to visit.

    One more. Not sure if you’ve heard of the Crest theatre up in Shoreline, WA (not far from Seattle), but they’re showing a great documentary called “I AM”. Inspirational for sure, and only 3 dollars fee.

    Cheers Z,

    Andrew

  18. Mr POSH says:

    Steve,

    So good to see such wise words from a footballer which as you know is a rarity in England! One of the few exceptions being your brother!

    If you fancy a change then I’m sure a player of your talent and level headedness would be more than welcome at The POSH! Sure you can’t be tempted by Championship football when you recover? Lol

  19. A. Urlacher says:

    I hear your brother is visiting now/soon.

    Welcome to Washington Gabs! Enjoy!

  20. Devon says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere! We are all wishing you a speedy recovery. On the soccer side of things, I’d be curious to hear your thoughts on the transitions the Sounders have made tactically in your absence. Or, barring that, how you think you’ve grown tactically as a player. I think it was clear to anyone who has watched you over the last couple of years that you’ve been making great strides towards increasing the quality of your game. I’m just curious if there has been conscious effort towards that and, if so, what that entailed. Keep the spirits and the rehab up, I’m sure we’ll see you torching right backs again soon!

  21. Dizzo says:

    Awesome to see you blogging. I look forward to your thoughts. Best wishes!

  22. Christiane says:

    Hey Steve,
    I think it’s fantastic that your sharing a different part of yourself with the public!
    I can’t wait to read new posts from you in the future!

    Christiane

  23. Look4wrd says:

    Happy solstice Steve! Looking forward to learning more about a young man with such an inspiring attitude.

  24. thefalllineD says:

    Subscribed – great to see my favorite Sounder blogging!

  25. Elise says:

    Looking forward to the blog!

  26. NBA… I take it you’d be going to a few Sonics games here and there if they hadn’t been stolen…

  27. Hey Steve,

    Great to see you recovering in leaps and bounds. I think it is fantastic that you you are blogging. I love football and spend most of my time watching it at one level or another. If you fancy it, the Atlantic crossing is showing the USMNT game, on weds at 6pm. We have just started playing in a co ed team as part of the ECS supporters football academy and our first game was Sunday and we got beat 8-0. Good times lol.
    Keep strong 🙂
    Denise

  28. Nikora says:

    I’ve always wanted to be able to ask a professional player this, but have never had the opportunity. Most people that I know who grew up playing and loving soccer have one or two moments on the pitch that, when bored, they relive over and over again.

    Do you have one of those moments, Steve?

  29. Barry says:

    Hi Steve, great to see you “around.” I was laid off from work in February with a decent severance package, so I was able to survive for a few months between jobs and suddenly found myself with a lot of free time as well, so I can kind of understand how it is. Long story short, I’m employed now, but I really enjoyed the time off and miss it. I spent a lot of time reading and learning new things (okay, and sleeping in). It was great. If you haven’t read them, try Malcolm Gladwell’s non-fiction books.

    My advice to you is to enjoy the time while you have it, because you’ll be soon be on your way to continuing an amazing career in football and hopefully won’t get any more down time acquired in this way again!

    -Barry

  30. cwarfield says:

    Added your blog to my RSS reader, and look forward to reading! Thoughts and prayers for a successful/speedy recovery always headed your way!

  31. WesMagee says:

    Welcome! As fans we always appreciate chances to interact with those sports stars we follow and enjoy. You’ve been a real inspiration and you’re positive attitude is unmatched.

    On a totally different note, any thoughts on the hard cap being offered by NBA owners?

  32. How about a blog post… Hijinks of the Zakuani Brothers. Go pull some pranks 🙂

  33. Nick G says:

    I would like to second an earlier comment to increase tea discussions, because I am currently on cup #3 for the day. There are some great spots in town (I love the shop in the market – not market spice, but the one in Post Alley next to White Horse tavern) for tracking down a good cuppa.

    Also, I’ll second Denise; come join us at the AC, you’ll get nothing but love, well wishes, and all the food anyone can convince you to eat to help ya back to full strength! Plus, Denise will screech at you about ManU’s eternal superiority to everyone, Everton included. “Fun”.

  34. ha ha the part about he pizza delivery guy mad me laugh. i’m not gonna lie your my favorite player and i would probably do the same thing. glad to hear from you and i wish you the best of luck in your recovery! i’m sure you’ve heard that a lot lol

Leave a Reply

